Definition of

Compass Points

Compass Points

The directions on the magnetic compass.

The 4 main points are North, South, East and West (going clockwise they are NESW).

Halfway between each of these is North-East, South-East, South-West and North-West.

And in between all of those are:

NNE (north-north-east),
ENE (east-north-east),
ESE (east-south-east),
SSE (south-south-east),
SSW (south-south-west),
WSW (west-south-west),
WNW (west-north-west),
NNW (north-north-west)

Example: in the morning there was a strong North wind, but later it swung around to the North-East

See: Compass